The Camino Soriano: Stages and history of this Jacobean route

We present you the Camino Soriano, a solitary Jacobean route with which you can get to know the province of Soria better

What is the Camino Soriano?

The Camino Soriano is an independent pilgrimage route that runs mostly through the province of Soria within Castilla y León. It is a solitary route of the Camino de Santiago that allows us to know much better the lands of Castilla y León It starts in the northwest of the province of Zaragoza, coinciding with the Camino del Ebro and ends in Castilla y León, coinciding with one of the last stages of the Ruta de la Lana

Why choose the Camino Soriano to do the Camino de Santiago?

Despite the fact that the Camino Soriano only runs largely through the province of Soria, it is a route that offers us a unique and different experience from the rest of the Jacobean routes. Besides being a challenge for any pilgrim who wants to face new challenges, it also offers an extraordinary and very characteristic view of this peninsular area.

Even though this route does not directly reach Santiago de Compostela, it connects with other routes that do, which is why it is an alternative for those pilgrims in search of new experiences. From Gallur you can complete the Soriano Route, and then go through the last stages of the Ruta de la Lana to reach Burgos

Stages of the Camino Soriano (Camino de Santiago)

The Camino Soriano starts in the town of Gallur, in the province of Zaragoza, where the Camino del Ebro also runs. Many pilgrims choose to take a detour on the Soriano route once they arrive in Gallur on the twelfth stage of the Ebro route, in order to reach the Ruta de la Lana and then Burgos, where they start the Camino Francés.

The Camino de Santiago has a total of 8 stages, most of which take place in the territory of Castilla y León. Among all of them, there are some especially hard stages, mainly reaching the end of the Camino Soriano, in which we find stages of 38 kilometers long.

Although this Jacobean route is known as the Camino Soriano, Soria is just one of the towns along its 200-kilometer route. San Leonardo de Yagüe, Ágreda and Pozalmuro, among many others, are the ones that any pilgrim can enjoy while walking the Camino Soriano, in addition to all kinds of monuments that they house.

  • Stage 1: Gallur - Borja (22 km)
  • Stage 2: Borja - Tarazona (28 km)
  • Stage 3: Tarazona - Ágreda (24 km)
  • Stage 4: Agreda - Pozalmuro (21 km)
  • Stage 5: Pozalmuro - Soria (38 km)
  • Stage 6: Soria - Abejar (38 km)
  • Stage 7: Abejar - San Leonardo de Yagüe (30 km)
  • Stage 8: San Leonardo de York - Santo Domingo de Silos (38 km)

To live the Camino you must be registered and/or logged. Take the first step and start your story!

Recent activity

There are no comments on this social wall

Latest blog
La Voz de Galicia La Voz de Asturias

Points of interest

Cities & Towns | Hostels | Lodgings | Restaurants | Saddlery | Doctors | Points of interest | Bikes workshop

Contact us | Privacy policy | Cookies policy | | Terms of use | Authorship | Web Map

© Copyright LA VOZ DE GALICIA S.A. Polígono de Sabón, Arteixo, A CORUÑA (ESPAÑA) Inscrita en el Registro Mercantil de A Coruña en el Tomo 2438 del Archivo, Sección General, a los folios 91 y siguientes, hoja C-2141. CIF: A-15000649

Developed and managed by Hyliacom