Museo de La Rioja

Point of interest en Logroño

0 reviews
0
0
0

Museo de La Rioja

Museo de la Rioja en Logroño | Wikimedia commons | Autor - Zarateman

Museo de la Rioja en Logroño | Wikimedia commons | Autor - Zarateman

Knowing the history from Prehistory to the present at the Museum of La Rioja in Logroño

Logroño is one of those tourist destinations that pilgrims cannot miss. Located on the Camino Francés, it shows us all kinds of points of interest. Recently we told you about the iron bridge, a bridge built based on a great tragedy. However, today our attention goes to a building in which history can be experienced in a completely unique way. This is the Museum of La Rioja, located in Logroño.

It is a baroque style building that was built in the 18th century. Its property, initially, belonged to Mrs. Jacinta Martínez de Sicilia, Duchess of Victoria, and wife of General Baldomero Espartero. During the years of her life, this place served to hold different political as well as social meetings, with Kings Amadeo of Savoy and Alfonso XII participating in these.

However, you should know that in the beginning it was a palace in which both lived after the general had retired. However, the couple died without children, and Vicenta Martínez de Sicilia, Jacinta's half-sister, and Fernánde de Luco were the ones who inherited the place. She rented the building from the state so that, starting in 1881, it would be the headquarters of the Military Government. Barely a year later, the Government issued a Decree for the transfer of the episcopal sees to the provincial capitals.

To fulfill this purpose, a sale was held in 1884, and between 1886 and 1888 a series of changes were made to the place to, in this way, replace the noble coat of arms with an episcopal one. However, despite all the changes made, the bishop never moved. The premises remained occupied over the years, serving as a stay for the Santa Rosa Asylum in 1900, the Casa Cuna del Niño Jesús and the Savings Bank in 1912 and, finally, in 1914 the Chamber of Commerce was incorporated as well. like the Artistic Circle.

In 1932 an eviction was attempted with the intention of installing the Historical Archive of the Province, although it was never carried out. In fact, it was in 1962 when the place was declared a Historical-Artistic Monument, giving it the definitive public use to be the headquarters of the provincial museum of Logroño, which would not be founded until 1963, although it would not open until the year 1971.

Since then, the museum has remained open, despite being subject to renovations and expansion. However, it is a unique space in which we can review history from prehistory to the present. Therefore, it is a unique destination for all those who want to discover the great wonders that Logroño hides and that are present in its Museum.

Photos & videos
The weather in Logroño

19/04/2024

ceo despexado

Location
Mapa de ubicación del punto de interes
Services
  • Connection by bus
  • Cash machine
  • Pharmacies
  • Police941221100
  • Local Police941235011
  • Connection by train
  • Supermarkets
  • Taxi stops
La Voz de Galicia La Voz de Asturias

Points of interest

Cities & Towns | Hostels | Lodgings | Restaurants | Saddlery | Doctors | Points of interest | Bikes workshop

Contact us | Privacy policy | Cookies policy | | Terms of use | Authorship | Web Map | Consentimiento

© Copyright LA VOZ DE GALICIA S.A. Polígono de Sabón, Arteixo, A CORUÑA (ESPAÑA) Inscrita en el Registro Mercantil de A Coruña en el Tomo 2438 del Archivo, Sección General, a los folios 91 y siguientes, hoja C-2141. CIF: A-15000649

Developed and managed by Hyliacom